Old Town Love

Greetings Humans ūüôā

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to live in an old town. To be more specific, an old town by the beach. To be even more specific, an old town by the Kenyan beach.
Earlier this month, I was able to go down to the beach…
Malindi. DSC_0701
This trip happened to occur at simply the best time of the year for me. Nairobi was just beginning to lose its heat and chilly winds were slowly creeping into the city. Don’t get me wrong, I love sweater weather. I now look a little bit normal constantly walking around with tea. I can wear a furry hat every day of the week if I want to¬† (sort of, kinda already do.) When it rains, I can carry an umbrella and take a stroll in the empty¬†CBD (Nairobians have an irrational fear of water falling from the sky) or sit in the house and read, edit, sleep, drink tea, dance to the¬†patter of the rain. Kenya’s winter is amazing. But I left my beloved city and ran to the ocean. DSC_1092
Now, being by the coast in Kenya’s winter is a whole other situation. I loose myself in the atmosphere but find my happiness easier. I have a theory that every human being has a place in the world where their mind, body, soul, spirit is set free. By place I don’t mean anywhere in a concrete jungle but a place where the earth still sings. Where you can make music from the sounds of the little insects,¬†birds, night creatures¬†and wind. There is always that place where soul to earth connection is no longer a theory but an experience.DSC_0517
Mine, is by the ocean. The humid air, the salty water, the fact that by 8:00am, the city is still asleep… I feel at home. In May, the sun rises early and brings with it light morning rain. The wind is strong and I kid you not, the palm trees sing. The fishermen sing too but their song is covered by the¬†dance of the waves.¬†Other humans are all silently sleeping.
Its beautiful.
It took us (Pidgin Squad as we called ourselves.) a couple of hours for us to walk from one side of the town to the other but each road had a small surprise. Sometimes it was the overpowering smell of viazi karai. Other times it was the architecture that blew me away. DSC_0886At some point it was Mohammed and his shop that sold items from the ocean including puffer fish which he said some people buy and use as a lamp shade. (ummm, lamp shade? LAMP SHADE?)
DSC_0825Other times¬†it was an Italian Wine shop that became sunshine on a cloudy day, or the roads that were wide enough only¬†for two tuk-tuk’s to pass side by side. It was just old town love everywhere!DSC_0694
DSC_0947
Just like the town, the people had the same vibe. Yielding a big camera, you would expect for there to be some sort of fracas like in the big city (Nairobae.) Quite the opposite actually. More than enough times, people would call for me from across the street to ask for me to take their picture then talk to me about my trip. I was an obvious tourist but I loved it. They made me feel welcome.  DSC_0812DSC_0756
DSC_0912DSC_0900DSC_0882DSC_0909DSC_0802DSC_0923DSC_0811DSC_0777I miss you Malindi. I promised to write about you when I missed you most and this is just a little note from my heart. The henna on my hand has already faded off and the sand that was stuck in my sneakers is finally out. But the shark tooth I got from Mohammed dangles above my heart, where you will always remain.
Old Town Love. DSC_0945

 

 

Leave a Reply

